Higher regional courts decisions

1. The claimant has to present and prove the requirements of § 435 HGB.
2. However, if a consignment is damaged in its custody, the carrier has a secondary burden of proof. And not just a research obligation.
3. According to this, the carrier has to substantiate the operation and technical condition of the means of transport, their maintenance and inspection. Otherwise a qualified fault on the part of the carrier is to be presumed.

OLG Stuttgart, Urt. v. 14.04.2021 – 3 U 176/18
= Transportrecht 10 2021, S. 421 ff

1. In view of the detailed and largely mandatory legal regulations associated with the transport law reform of 1998, the ADSp are no longer tacitly included as a “ready-made legal system”.
2. The damage to a consignment (wooden box) stored on the property boundary by a container stacked at a higher level on the neighboring property due to wind pressure is not inevitable for the storing carrier within the meaning of Section 426 of the German Commercial Code (HGB) if a general warning of a storm low was given the day before.
3. The (interim) storage of a consignment before the execution of a later sea transport is to be assigned to the land freight law, which is why the local liability limits apply.

Hans. OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 11.03.2021 – 6 U 81/19
= Transportrecht 9 2021, S. 403 ff

1. The sender is not to be blamed for contributory negligence if he does not make any (safety) requirements with regard to the means of transport when transporting a consignment by truck to England; despite the well-known risk of shipments being damaged by migrants.
2. Conditions similar to a civil war at the canal ports do not constitute an exclusion of liability according to Art. 17 Para. 2 CMR when a tarpaulin trailer is provided.

OLG Koblenz, Urt. v. 04.02.2021 – 6 U 728/20
= Transportrecht 6 2021, S. 272 ff

According to § 148 ZPO, recourse proceedings are to be suspended if it is disputed in another judicial process whether the claimant in the recourse proceedings is responsible for the damage at all.
Hans. OLG Hamburg, Beschl. v. 28.01.2021 – 6 W 2/21
= Transportrecht 5 2021, S. 253 f

1. A contract for the installation of a rectifier system from the means of transport into a switch room by means of a crane is to be qualified as a freight contract within the meaning of §§ 425 ff. HGB.
2. The carrier is not insured under assembly insurance and there is no multiple insurance in addition to the carrier’s transport liability / liability insurance.

OLG Köln, Beschl. v. 20.01.2021 – 3 U 89/20
= Transportrecht 5 2021, S. 236 ff

1. The assignment by the insolvency holder converts the cover claim aimed at exemption into a payment claim.
2. Reflecting the obligations of the policyholder under the insurance contract, if the insurer is called upon after the insolvency administrator has assigned the coverage claims over the policyholder’s assets, the insurer is obliged to obtain information on the policyholder’s liability from the policyholder and therefore the insurer cannot declare himself ignorant of the liability of the policyholder.

Hans. OLG Bremen, Urt. v. 02.10.2020 – 2 U 168/19
= Transportrecht 6 2021, S. 281 ff

1. An illness of the driver during a transport, which requires the driver to be taken to hospital, does not constitute inevitability in the case of a subsequent theft of a shipment in the sense of Art. 17 II para. 2 CMR if the driver can inform his employer before being picked up at the hospital.
2. Rather, it constitutes a qualified fault according to Art. 29 CMR to leave known valuable goods (branded textiles) unguarded in a public parking lot in the south of England.

OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 13.05.2020 – 1-18 U 120/17
= Transportrecht 11/12 2020, S. 477 ff

1. If a framework agreement with an independent legal entity of the Deutsche Post AG group stipulates that another independent legal entity of the Deutsche Post AG group becomes the contracting partner for international parcel shipments, a corresponding representation of the person carrying out the international shipping shall apply independent legal person in any case with corresponding billing of the transport service as approved.
2. Although Art. 55 Universal Postal Treaty 1999, Art. 38 Universal Postal Treaty 2004 stipulates that the previous Universal Postal Treaty loses its validity with the ratification of the subsequent Universal Postal Treaty and the Federal Republic of Germany has not ratified the Universal Postal Treaty 2006 (and subsequently), the provisions apply of the Universal Postal Treaty and the Postal Parcel Convention in favor of Deutsche Post AG continue to apply.

OLG Köln, Urt. v. 19.03.2020 – 3 U 79/19
(see on this Czerenka in TransportR. 2020, p. 425 (attached to the decision))
= Transportrecht 10 2020, S. 118 ff

1. By sending the damage documents to the transport insurer, the policy holder simultaneously declares the assignment of his rights of recourse under the freight contract to the transport insurer.
2. By sending the damage documents to the insurer, the policy holder simultaneously declares the assignment of his claims from the freight contract to the insurer. Goods which cannot be delivered in the foreseeable future, e.g. due to a refusal of acceptance by the consignee, are deemed to be lost in accordance with Art. 17 para. 1 CMR.
3. leaving a consignment standing in a transhipment warehouse regularly gives rise to the accusation of qualified fault under Art. 29 CMR, as this can only be explained by inadequate entry/exit controls.
4. if the goods no longer have any objective value at all for the consignor from an economic point of view because the consignee has refused to accept the goods, the consignor may refuse to take back or further exploit the goods. lf the consignor is not in breach of his duty to minimise loss or damage, he is not liable.

OLG Stuttgart, Urt. v. 27.11.2019 – 3 U 239114
= Transportrecht 7|8 2020, S. 344 ff

In the case of a so-called incoming fraud, the sender does not have any claims against the carrier in accordance with Art. 17 ff. CMR even if the carrier cannot prove the delivery of the goods handed over to him for transportation to the freight contract recipient, since the sender is harmed in the same way would have occurred regardless of whether the goods were lost in the carrier’s custody or were delivered to the recipient.
OLG Frankfurt am Main, Urt. v. 11.09.2019 – 5 U 196/18
= TransportR. 1 2020, S. 21 ff

1. The clause of a Freight Framework Agreement stating that loaded lorries are “to be parked there where adequate safety is ensured” shall be valid and interpreted as meaning that loaded lorries may be parked only where they are against access by thieves are effectively protected (eg fenced premises with access control, lockable buildings or garages).
2. The breach of corresponding security requirements and / or their failure to pass on grounds for a qualified fault according to § 435 HGB.
3. The objection of contributory negligence wg. Failed declaration of value can only be significant if the value of the shipment has been at least ten times the regular liability.
4. Inadmissible findings in a basic judgment (also) on the amount of the claim do not bind the appellate court (§ 318 ZPO), but are nevertheless not suitable to help an appeal to success.

OLG Celle Urt. v. 13.06.2019 – 11 U 6/19
= TransportR. 10 2019, S. 428 ff

Unlike in the case of a so-called wrong delivery, in which the carrier is deceived about the right to receive, in the event of an incoming fraud against the sender, delivery takes place in the sense of Art. 17 para. 1 CMR with handover to the person named by the sender, their identity may also be faked (in delimitation / specification to OLG Hamm, judgment of 26.08.2013 – 1-18 U 164/12 [= TranspR 2013, 431] and OLG Düsseldorf, judgment of 05.06.2002 – 18 U 215/01)
OLG Koblenz, Urt. v. 09.05.2019 – 2 U 256/18
= TransportR. 1 2020, S. 24 ff

Premature termination of the contract of carriage
1. The precondition of an obstacle to transport or delivery within the meaning of § 419 I 1 HGB is not that the agreed transport within the meaning of § 275 BGB has become impossible. Rather, it is sufficient that the transport cannot (any longer) be carried out in accordance with the contract.
2. Such an obstacle (1. above) exists if the carrier loses possession of the goods because the sub-carrier now carries the goods further on the basis of a contract of carriage concluded directly with the sender.
3. If the carriage is terminated prematurely due to an obstacle to carriage or delivery, the freight fiiluer retains the right to the full freight in accordance with § 420 III HGB (German Commercial Code) if the obstacle is attributable to the risk area of the consignor.

OLG Hamm, Urt. v. 14.02.2019 – 18 U 160/15
= Recht der Transportwirtschaft 9/2020, S. 338 ff

If the judgment of the first instance concerning the admissibility of the subsidiary intervention is admissible, an appeal against that decision is an immediate complaint.
OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 24.01.2019 – 6 U 277/15
= TransportR. 10 2019, S. 460 ff

1. If a freight forwarder undertakes (even) to package the goods, works contract law will apply if it is not a subordinate, transport-related activity.
2. Defects of the packaging justify (then) claims according to § 634 No. 4 i.V.m. § 280 BGB, since upon detection of the defect (only) at the destination a supplementary performance of the contract is no longer possible and the purpose of the packaging has been omitted.
3. The handing over of the packaged goods to the following carrier does not justify acceptance i.S.d. § 640 BGB a.F.

OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 24.01.2019 – 6 U 62/16
= TransportR. 10 2019, S. 456 ff

1. If an insurance broker establishes himself as an insurer when concluding an insurance contract, he must be treated as such.
2. Coverage under a liability insurance already exists with serious assertion of claims against the policyholder.
3. The permanent connection of a yacht to the shore power supply (during winter storage) is part of keeping or using a yacht.

OLG Celle, Urt. v. 13.12.2018 – 8 U 142/18
= TransportR. 10 2019, S. 446 ff

1. If the liability of the carrier meets § 606 sentence 2 HGB a.F. with the non-liability of the carrier according to § 608 (1) Nr. 5 HGB a.F. together, a distribution of liability is to be made by reference to the legal concept of the 254 BGB.
2. On the requirements of an organ fault according to § 660 (3) HGB a.F.
3. When calculating the maximum amount of liability pursuant to § 660 (1) HGB a.F., the damage to be compensated must first be determined, then a reduction in the obligation to pay compensation pursuant to § 254 BGB must be taken into account and then (only) the correction of the substitute limit used.
Hans. OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 08.11.2018 – 6 U 222/16
= TransportR. 2 2019, S. 84 ff

1. If a negative declaratory action has been filed in the Netherlands, a claim for damages (in terms of time) pursuant to Art. 30 (1) EuGWO shall be suspended.
2. Even if the claims of the defendants there had already been transferred to the plaintiff in the proceedings in Germany prior to filing the lawsuit in the Netherlands, the proceedings are related to each other.
With note of lawyer Benjamin Grimme
OLG Düsseldorf, Beschl. v. 09.10.2018 – 1-18 W 15/18 (n.rk.)
= TransportR. 3 2019, S. 140 ff

1. The clause of a transport order »Please make sure that there is sufficient insurance cover. (…) Only keep the truck in guarded parking lots, whose security correspond with the requirements of your insurance company. «It should be interpreted that parking in unguarded parking lots is not permitted.
2. The violation of the corresponding security requirements constitutes a qualified fault according to Art. 29 CMR.

Hans. OLG Bremen, Urt. v. 10.08.2018 – 2 U 7/18
= TransportR. 2 2020, S. 77 ff

However, even in the case of an application for assessment, the applicant must state and prove that damage has been caused in the custody of the carrier.
Art. 3, 17, 29 CMR; § 264 Nr. 2 ZPO
Hanseatisches OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 05.04.2018 – 6 U 225/16
= TransportR. 7|8 2018, S. 303 ff

An insurer who relies on the fraudulent misrepresentation of his policyholder in order to justify his exemption from performance, has the intention to deceive of the policyholder.
However, the policyholder has a secondary burden of presentation; an intention to deceive is therefore to be assumed if the policyholder is too does not make a presentation in the relevant circumstances.
OLG Frankfurt am Main, Hinweisbeschl. v. 14.03.2018
und Zurückweisungsbeschl. v. 09.04.2018 – 3 U 178/16
= TransportR. 10 2018, S. 386 ff

The overturning of a truck in strong winds without the occurrence of further circumstances justifies no qualified fault of the carrier.
Art. 29, 32 CMR
Hanseatisches OLG Hamburg, Beschl. v. 07.03.2018 – 6 U 40/16
= TransportR. 7|8 2018, S. 301 ff

The meticulous handling of the TLMV is essential to ward off significant risks to the health of consumers.
OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 08.11.2017 – 1-18 U 173115
= TransportR. 5 2018, S. 197 ff

The parking of a transport vehicle loaded with groupage in an unguarded commercial area justifies (even on weekends and even if the carrier is aware that there are easily deductible goods under the groupage) not easily the charge of a qualified fault.
OLG Nürnberg, Beschl. v. 14.08.2017 – 12 U 2204/15
= TransportR. 3 2018, S. 118 ff

A freight carrier who asserts claims under § 414 (1) HGB because of damage to his truck to the sender is not to be blamed for contributory negligence under § 414 (2) HGB if the driver – despite expressed doubts about the safe / reliable loading / Packaging – trusts in the sender’s declaration that the goods are always packed / loaded the same way.
With note of lawyer Benjamin Grimme
Saarl. OLG, Urt . v. 08.02.2017 – 5 U 29/16 (rechtskräftig)
= TransportR. 11|12 2017, S. 453 ff

Road transport / CMR
Art. 17 Abs. 2 CMR
OLG Köln, Urt. v. 25.08.2016 – 3 U 28/16

Urt. v. 28.08.2016

Inevitability of damage to the goods in the event of a tire fire
OLG Hamm, Urt. v. 21.04.2016 – Az. 18 U 17/14
(§ 426 HGB, § 7 II StVG a.F., GüKG)
RdTW 3/2017, S. 111 ff

1. The contractual carrier has to allow the intentional embezzlement of the goods by a subcontractor commissioned via the freight exchange (Art. 3, 29 CMR).
2. The shipper shall not be accused of contributory negligence if he does not make any determinations concerning the registration number of the truck and the identity of the driver, at the place advised by the contracting carrier, at the time of collection of the goods and indicating to the shipper beforehand Carrier’s reference number appears.

Schleswig-Holsteinisches OLG, Urteil vom 18.12.2014 – 16 U 24/14
= TransportR. 4 2015, S. 157 ff

Transport insurance
OLG Naumburg, Urt. v. 28.3.2014 – 10 U 5/13
= VersR. 2015 Heft 3, S. 102 ff

Multimodal transport
§§ 452a, 607 Abs. 2 HGB
HansOLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 19.6.2008 – 6 U 26/07 – nicht rechtskräftig

Air transport contract
WA Art. 22, 25
OLG Köln, Urt. v. 15.2.2005 (22 U 145/04)

Road transport
Art. 17 Abs. I,4; Art. 29 CMR; § 435 HGB
OLG Stuttgart, Urt. v. 11.6.2003 – 3 U 222/02

Road transport
Art. 17, 23, 29 CMR; § 67 VVG
OLG Hamm, Urt. v. 25.7.2002 – 18 U 182/01 – rechtskräftig

Multimodal transport
§§ 435, 452 HGB
OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 12.12.2001 – 18 U 79/01

Road transport
Art. 17 Abs. 1, Art. 29 CMR
OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 14.11.2001 – 18 U 263/00

Road transport
Art. 17 Abs. 4 Buchst. d, Art. 18 Abs. 4, Art. 23 Abs. 2, Art. 29 CMR
OLG München, Urt. v. 31.5.2000 – 7 U 6226/99

Oberlandesgerichtliche Entscheidungen

1. Entscheidend für die Anwendung des Haftungsausschlusstatbestandes des Art. 17 Abs. 4 lit. c) CMR ist, wer die Verladung ausgeführt hat.
2. Sind für die Verladung des zu befördenden Gutes besondere Hebevorrichtungen erforderlich, welche der Frachtführer nicht mit sich führt, ist der Absender zu Verladung verpflichtet.
3. Werden Leute des Frachtführers (dann) bei der Verla­dung des Gutes mit Billigung des Absenders tätig, agie­ren diese als Hilfspersonen des Absenders.

OLG Schleswig-Holstein, Urteil vom 03.05.2021 – 16 U 141/20
= Transportrecht 02 2022, S. 61 ff

1. Der Anspruchsteller hat die Voraussetzungen des § 435 HGB darzulegen und zu beweisen.
2. Den Frachtführer trifft bei der Beschädigung einer Sendung in seinem Gewahrsam jedoch eine sekundäre Darlegungslast. Und nicht bloss eine Recherchepflicht.
3. Hiernach hat der Frachtführer substantiiert zur Bedienung und zum technischen Zustand der Beförderungsmittel, deren Wartung und Überprüfung vorzutragen. Andernfalls ein qualifiziertes Verschulden des Frachtführers zu vermuten steht.

OLG Stuttgart, Urt. v. 14.04.2021 – 3 U 176/18
= Transportrecht 10 2021, S. 421 ff

1. Angesichts der mit der Transportrechtsreform von 1998 verbundenen detaillierten und weitgehend zwin­genden gesetzlichen Regelungen werden die ADSp nicht mehr als »fertig bereitliegende Rechtsordnung« still­schweigend einbezogen.
2. Die Beschädigung eines an der Grundstücksgrenze gelagerten Sendungsgutes (Holzkiste) durch einen auf dem Nachbargrundstück in höherer Lage gestapelten Container aufgrund Winddrucks ist für den lagernden Frachtführer nicht unabwendbar i.S.v. § 426 HGB, wenn einen Tag zuvor eine allgemeine Warnung vor einem Sturmtief vorlag.
3. Die (Zwischen-)Lagerung eines Sendungsgutes vor der Durchführung einen späteren Seetransports ist dem Landfrachtrecht zuzuordnen, weshalb die dortigen Haftungsgrenzen Anwendung finden.

Hans. OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 11.03.2021 – 6 U 81/19
= Transportrecht 9 2021, S. 403 ff

Ein Regressverfahren ist nach § 148 ZPO auszusetzen, wenn in einem anderen gerichtlichen Verfahren strittig ist, ob die Klägerin des Regressverfahrens überhaupt für den Schaden einzustehen hat.
Hans. OLG Hamburg, Beschl. v. 28.01.2021 – 6 W 2/21
= Transportrecht 5 2021, S. 253 f

1. Ein Vertrag über die Einbringung einer Gleichrichter­anlage von dem Beförderungsmittel in einen Schaltraum vermittels eines Krans ist als Frachtvertrag i.S.d §§ 425 ff. HGB zu qualifizieren.
2. Unter eine Montageversicherung ist der Frachtführer nicht mitversichert und besteht auch keine Mehrfachver­sicherung zu der Verkehrshaftungs-/Haftpflichtversiche­rung des Frachtführers.

OLG Köln, Beschl. v. 20.01.2021 – 3 U 89/20
= Transportrecht 5 2021, S. 236 ff

1. Die Abtretung durch den lnsolvenzvenvalter wandelt den auf Befreiung gerichteten Deckungsanspruch in einen Zahlungsanspruch.
2. Spiegelbildlich zu den Obliegenheiten des Versicherungsnehmers aus dem Versicherungsvertrag, ist bei lnanspruchnahme des Versicherers nach Abtretung der Deckungsansprüche durch den Insolvenzverwalter über das Vermögen des Versicherungsnehmers, der Versicherer verpflichtet, lnformationen zur Haftung des Versicherungsnehmers bei dem Versicherungsnehmer einzuholen und kann sich daher der Versicherer zur Haftung des Versicherungsnehmers nicht mit Nichtwissen erklären.

Hans. OLG Bremen, Urt. v. 02.10.2020 – 2 U 168/19
= Transportrecht 6 2021, S. 281 ff

1. Eine Erkrankung des Fahrers während einer Beförderung, welche eine Verbringung des Fahrers in Krankenhaus erforderlich macht, begründet bei einem nachfolgenden Sendungsdiebstahl jedenfalls dann keine Unvermeidbarkeit i.S.d. Art. 17 ll Abs. 2 CMR, wenn vor Abholung ins Krankenhaus der Fahrer seinen Arbeitgeber noch unterrichten kann.
2. Vielmehr begründet es ein qualifiziertes Verschulden nach Art. 29 CMR, bekannt wertvolle Güter (Markentextilien) unbewacht auf einem öffentlichen Parkplatz im Süden Englands abzustellen.

OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 13.05.2020 – 1-18 U 120/17
= Transportrecht 11/12 2020, S. 477 ff

1. lst in einem Rahmenvertrag mit einer selbständigen juristischen Person des Konzernverbundes der Deutschen Post AG bestimmt, dass bei internationalen Paketbeförderungen Vertragspartnerin eine andere selbständige juristische Person des Konzernverbundes der Deutschen Post AG Vertragspartnerin wird, gilt eine entsprechende Vertretung der die internationale Beförderung ausführenden selbstständigen juristischen Person jedenfalls mit korrespondierender Abrechnung der Beförderungsleistung als genehmigt.
2. Obwohl in Art. 65 Weltpostvertrag 1999, Art. 38 Weltpostvertrag 20O4 bestimmt ist, das mit Ratifikation des nachfolgenden Weltpostvertrages der vorhergehende Weltpostvertrag seine Geltung verliert und die Bundesrepublik Deutschland den Weltpostvertrag 2006 (und nachfolgend) nicht ratifiziert hat, finden die Bestimmungen des Weltpostvertrages und des Postpaketübereinkommens zu Gunsten der Deutschen Post AG weiterhin Anwendung.

OLG Köln, Urt. v. 19.03.2020 – 3 U 79/19
(see on this Czerenka in TransportR. 2020, p. 425 (attached to the decision))
= Transportrecht 10 2020, S. 118 ff

1. Mit Übersendung der Schadensunterlagen an den Transportversicherer erklärt der Versicherungsnehmer gleichzeitig konkludent die Abtretung seiner frachtvertraglichen Regressansprüche an den Transportversicherer.
2. Mit Übersendung der Schadensunterlagen an den Versicherer erklärt der Versicherungsnehmer gleichzeitig konkludent die Abtretung seiner Ansprüche aus dem Frachtvertrag an den Versicherer. Güter, welche nicht in absehbarer Zeit, bspw. wegen einer Annahmeverweigerung des Empfängers, nicht abgeliefert werden können, gelten als verlustig nach Art. 17 Abs. 1 CMR.
3. Das Stehenlassen einer Sendung in einem Umschlagslager begründet regelmäßig den Vorwurf eines qualifizierten Verschuldens nach Art. 29 CMR, da nur durch unzureichende Ein-/Ausgangskontrollen erklärlich, da dies nur durch unzureichende Ein-/Ausgangskontrollen erklärbar ist.
4. Wenn das Gut für den Absender bei wirtschaftlicher Betrachtung aufgrund der vom Empfänger abgelehnten Warenannahme überhaupt keinen objektiven Wert mehr hat, kann der Absender die Rücknahme bzw. weitere Verwertung des Gutes ablehnen. lhn trifft kein Verstoß gegen seine Schadensminderungspflicht.

OLG Stuttgart, Urt. v. 27.11.2019 – 3 U 239114
= Transportrecht 7|8 2020, S. 344 ff

Bei einem sog. Eingehungsbetrug bestehen Ansprü­che des Absenders gegenüber dem Frachtführer nach Art. 17 ff. CMR auch dann nicht, wenn der Frachtführer die Ablieferung des ihm zur Beförderung übergebenen Gutes an den frachtvertraglichen Empfänger nicht nach­weisen kann, da dem Absender ein Schaden in gleicher Weise eingetreten wäre, ungeachtet, ob das Gut im Ge­wahrsam des Frachtführers in Verlust geraten ist oder an dem Empfänger abgeliefert wurde.
OLG Frankfurt am Main, Urt. v. 11.09.2019 – 5 U 196/18
= TransportR. 1 2020, S. 21 ff

1. Die Klausel eines Fracht(rahmen)vertrages, wonach be­ladene LKW» … dort abzustellen (sind), wo ausreichende Sicherheit gewährleistet ist«, ist wirksam und dahin aus­zulegen, dass beladene LKW nur dort abgestellt werden dürfen, wo sie gegen den Zutritt von Dieben wirksam ge­schützt sind (bspw. eingefriedete Gelände mit Zugangs­kontrollen, abschließbare Gebäude oder Garagen).
2. Der Verstoß gegen entsprechende Sicherheitsvorga­ben und/oder deren unterlassene Weitergabe begründet ein qualifiziertes Verschulden nach § 435 HGB.
3. Der Einwand eines Mitverschuldens wg. unterlasse­ner Wertdeklaration kann überhaupt erst erheblich sein, wenn der Sendungswert mindestens das Zehnfache der Regelhaftung betragen hat.
4. Unzulässige Feststellungen in einem Grundurteil (auch) zur Höhe des Anspruchs binden das Berufungs­gericht nicht (§ 318 ZPO), sind gleichwohl aber nicht ge­eignet, einer Berufung zum Erfolg zu verhelfen.

OLG Celle Urt. v. 13.06.2019 – 11 U 6/19
= TransportR. 10 2019, S. 428 ff

Anders, als bei einer sog. Falschablieferung, bei wel­cher der Frachtführer über die Empfangsberechtigung getäuscht wird, erfolgt bei einem Eingehungsbetrug gegenüber dem Absender die Ablieferung i.S.d. Art. 17 Abs. 1 CMR mit Übergabe an die von dem Absender be­nannte Person, mag auch deren Identität vorgetäuscht sein (in Abgrenzung/Konkretisierung zu OLG Hamm, Urt. v. 26.08.2013 -1-18 U 164/12 [= TranspR 2013, 431] und OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 05.06.2002-18 U 215/01)
OLG Koblenz, Urt. v. 09.05.2019 – 2 U 256/18
= TransportR. 1 2020, S. 24 ff

Vorzeitige Beendigung des Frachtvertrages
1. Voraussetzung eines Beförderungs- oder Ablieferungshindernisses im Sinne des § 419 I 1 HGB ist nicht, dass die vereinbarte Beförderung im Sinne des § 275 BGB unmöglich geworden ist. Vielmehr genügt es, dass die Beförderung nicht (mehr) vertragsgemäß durchgeführt werden kann.
2. Ein solches Hindernis (soeben 1.) liegt vor, wenn der Frachtführer den Besitz am Gut verliert, weil der Unterfrachtführer das Gut nunmehr aufgrund eines unmittelbar mit dem Absender geschlossenen Frachtvertrages weiter befördert.
3. Wird die Beförderung aufgrund eines Beförderungs- oder Ablieferungshindernisses vorzeitig beendet, behält der Frachtführer nach § 420 III HGB den Anspruch auf die volle Fracht, wenn das Hindernis dem Risikobereich des Absenders zuzurechnen ist.

OLG Hamm, Urt. v. 14.02.2019 – 18 U 160/15
= Recht der Transportwirtschaft 9/2020, S. 338 ff

Verhält sich das erstinstanzliche Urteil über die Zulässig­keit der Nebenintervention, ist statthaftes Rechtsmittel gegen die entsprechende Entscheidung die sofortige Beschwerde.
OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 24.01.2019 – 6 U 277/15
= TransportR. 10 2019, S. 460 ff

1. Verpflichtet sich ein Spediteur (auch) zur Verpackung des Guts, findet Werkvertragsrecht Anwendung, wenn es sich nicht um eine untergeordnete, beförderungsbezo­gene Tätigkeit handelt.
2. Mängel der Verpackung begründen (dann) Ansprüche nach § 634 Nr. 4 i.V.m. § 280 BGB, da bei Feststellung des Mangels (erst) am Bestimmungsort eine Nacherfül­lung des Vertrages nicht mehr möglich und der Zweck der Verpackung entfallen ist.
3. Die Übergabe des verpackten Gutes an den nachfol­genden Frachtführer begründet keine Abnahme i.S.d. § 640 BGB a.F.

OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 24.01.2019 – 6 U 62/16
= TransportR. 10 2019, S. 456 ff

1. Geriert sich ein Versicherungsmakler bei Abschluss eines Versicherungsvertrages als Versicherer, hat er sich als solcher behandeln zu lassen.
2. Deckungsschutz unter einer Haftpflichtversicherung besteht bereits bei ernsthafter Geltendmachung von An­sprüchen gegenüber dem Versicherungsnehmer.
3. Der dauerhafte Anschluss einer Yacht an die Land­stromversorgung (während der Winterlagerung) gehört zum Halten bzw. Nutzen einer Yacht.

OLG Celle, Urt. v. 13.12.2018 – 8 U 142/18
= TransportR. 10 2019, S. 446 ff

1. Trifft die Haftung des Verfrachters aus § 606 Satz 2 HGB a.F. mit der Nichthaftung des Verfrachters nach §608 Abs. 1 Nr. 5 HGB a.F. zusammen, ist eine Haftungs­verteilung unter Heranziehung des Rechtsgedankens des § 254 BGB vorzunehmen.
2. Zu den Voraussetzungen eines Organverschuldens nach § 660 Abs. 3 HGB a.F.
3. Bei der Berechnung des Haftungshöchstbetrages nach § 660 Abs. 1 HGB a.F. ist zunächst der zu ersetzen­de Schaden festzustellen, anschließend eine Minderung der Ersatzpflicht nach § 254 BGB zu berücksichtigen und (erst) dann das Korrektiv der Ersatzgrenze heranzuziehen.

Hans. OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 08.11.2018 – 6 U 222/16
= TransportR. 2 2019, S. 84 ff

1. Ist in den Niederlanden eine negative Feststellungs­klage erhoben, ist eine (zeitlich) hiernach erhobene Leis­tungsklage nach Art. 30 Abs. 1 EuGWO auszusetzen.
2. Und zwar auch dann, wenn bereits vor Klageerhe­bung in den Niederlanden die Ansprüche der dortigen Beklagten auf die Klägerin des Verfahrens in Deutschland übergegangen waren, die Verfahren im Zusammen­hang miteinander stehen.

Mit Anmerkung von Rechtsanwalt Benjamin Grimme
OLG Düsseldorf, Beschl. v. 09.10.2018 – 1-18 W 15/18 (n.rk.)
= TransportR. 3 2019, S. 140 ff

1. Die Klausel eines Transportauftrages »Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass ausreichender Versicherungsschutz besteht. ( … ) Den Lkw nur auf bewachten Parkplätzen halten, deren Sicherheit den Vorgaben Ihrer Versicherung ent­spricht.« ist dahin auszulegen, dass das Parken auf un­bewachten Parkplätzen zu unterlassen ist.
2. Der Verstoß gegen entsprechende Sicherheitsvor­gaben begründet ein qualifiziertes Verschulden nach Art. 29 CMR.

Hans. OLG Bremen, Urt. v. 10.08.2018 – 2 U 7/18
= TransportR. 2 2020, S. 77 ff

1. Bei dem Wechsel vom Leistungs- zum Feststellungsan­trag handelt es sich um eine qualitative Klagebeschrän­kung gern. § 264 Nr. 2 ZPO, welcher der Zustimmung der Beklagten nicht bedarf.
2. Trotz möglicher Bezifferung der Klageforderung ist die Feststellungsklage zulässig, wenn die Klägerin den ihr gegenüber erhobenen Anspruch eines Dritten für nicht endgültig gesichert hält.
3. Auch bei einem Feststellungsantrag hat die Klägerin indes darzulegen und nachzuweisen, dass in der Obhut des Frachtführers ein Schaden entstanden ist.

Hanseatisches OLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 05.04.2018 – 6 U 225/16
= TransportR. 7|8 2018, S. 303 ff

1. Ein Versicherer, welcher sich zur Begründung seiner Leistungsfreiheit auf eine arglistige Täuschung seines Versicherungsnehmers beruft, hat die Täuschungsabsicht des Versicherungsnehmers zu beweisen.
2. Den Versicherungsnehmer trifft jedoch eine sekun­däre Darlegungslast; eine Täuschungsabsicht steht da­her zu vermuten, wenn der Versicherungsnehmer zu den entscheidungserheblichen Umständen keinen Vor­trag hält.
OLG Frankfurt am Main, Hinweisbeschl. v. 14.03.2018
und Zurückweisungsbeschl. v. 09.04.2018 – 3 U 178/16
= TransportR. 10 2018, S. 386 ff

Das Umkippen eines Lkw bei starkem Wind begrün­det ohne das Hinzutreten weiterer Umstände kein quali­fiziertes Verschulden des Frachtführers.
Hanseatisches OLG Hamburg, Beschl. v. 07.03.2018 – 6 U 40/16
= TransportR. 7|8 2018, S. 301 ff

1. Die Obhutszeit des Frachtführers besteht auch dann fort, wenn ein kurzzeitiges oder endgültiges Ablieferungshindernis besteht, weil die Empfängerin die Annahme verweigert.
2. Die penible Handhabung der TLMV ist zur Abwehr erheblicher Gefahren für die Gesundheit der Verbraucher unabdingbar. Tiefkühlware, die unter Nichteinhaltung des § 2 Abs. 4 TLMV transportiert wurde, ist wegen der lebensmittelrechtlichen Folgen und dem möglichen Imageschaden, der eintreten würde, wenn ein Kaufmann lebensmittelrechtlich unzulässige Tiefkühlprodukte in den Verkehr bringt, nicht mehr verkehrsfähig und damit beschädigt i.S.d. CMR. Auf den tatsächlichen mikrobiologischen Zustand der Ware kommt es damit nicht mehr an.
3. Bei Tiefkühltransporten trägt der Frachtführer die Verantwortung, dass das Transportgut zu jedem Zeitpunkt nach den vertraglichen Vereinbarungen transportiert werden kann; dies gilt auch dann, wenn zeitliche Verzögerungen auftreten, die einen längeren Verbleib des Transportguts im Transportfahrzeug bedingen. Setzt er vor diesem Hintergrund ein Fahrzeug ohne aktive Kühlung ein, geht er damit bewusst – im Sinne eines qualifizierten Verschuldens – das Risiko eines Verderbs der Ware bei Verzögerungen des Transports ein.
4. Qualifiziertes Verschulden nach Art. 29 Abs. 1 CMR schließt ein Berufen auf Haftungsbefreiungen oder -beschränkungen nach Art. 17 Abs. 2 und 4, Art. 18, 23 CMR aus.

OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 08.11.2017 – 1-18 U 173/15
= TransportR. 5 2018, S. 197 ff

2. Das Abstellen eines mit Sammelgut beladenen Trans­portfahrzeugs in einem unbewachten Gewerbegebiet rechtfertigt (selbst am Wochenende und selbst dann, wenn dem Frachtführer bekannt ist, dass sich unter dem Sammelgut leicht absetzbare Güter befinden) nicht ohne weiteres den Vorwurf eines qualifizierten Verschuldens.
OLG Nürnberg, Beschl. v. 14.08.2017 – 12 U 2204/15
= TransportR. 3 2018, S. 118 ff

Einern Frachtführer, der Ansprüche nach § 414 Abs. 1 HGB wegen der Beschädigung seines Lkw gegenüber dem Absender geltend macht, ist kein Mitverschulden nach § 414 Abs. 2 HGB vorzuwerfen, wenn dessen Fah­rer – trotz geäußerter Zweifel an der beförderungs-/betriebssicheren Verladung/Verpackung – auf die Er­klärung des Versenders, dass das Gut immer gleich ver­packt/verladen werde, vertraut.
Mit Anmerkung von Rechtsanwalt Benjamin Grimme
Saarl. OLG, Urt . v. 08.02.2017 – 5 U 29/16 (rechtskräftig)
= TransportR. 11|12 2017, S. 453 ff

Straßentransport / CMR
Art. 17 Abs. 2 CMR
OLG Köln, Urt. v. 25.08.2016 – 3 U 28/16

OLG Köln, Urt. v. 28.08.2016

Unvermeidbarkeit eines Schadens am Gut bei Reifenbrand
OLG Hamm, Urt. v. 21.04.2016 – Az. 18 U 17/14
(§ 426 HGB, § 7 II StVG a.F., GüKG)
RdTW 3/2017, S. 111 ff

1. Der vertragliche Frachtführer hat sich die vorsätz­liche Unterschlagung des Gutes durch einen via Frachten­börse beauftragten Subunternehmers umfassend zurechnen zu lassen (Art. 3, 29 CMR).
2. Dem Verlader ist kein Mitverschulden vorzuwerfen, wenn er keine Feststellungen über die amtlichen Kennzeichen des Lkw und die Identität des Fahrers trifft, der an dem vom vertraglichen Frachtführer avisierten Ort, zur avisierten Zeit der Abholung des Gutes und unter Angabe einer dem Ver­lader zuvor von dem vertraglichen Frachtführer mitgeteilten Referenznummer erscheint.

Schleswig-Holsteinisches OLG, Urt. v. 18.12.2014 – 16 U 24/14
= TransportR. 4 2015, S. 157 ff

Transportversicherung
OLG Naumburg, Urt. v. 28.3.2014 – 10 U 5/13
= VersR. 2015 Heft 3, S. 102 ff

Multimodaler Transport
§§ 452a, 607 Abs. 2 HGB
HansOLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 19.6.2008 – 6 U 26/07 – nicht rechtskräftig

Luftbeförderungsvertrag
WA Art. 22, 25
OLG Köln, Urt. v. 15.2.2005 (22 U 145/04)

Straßentransport
Art. 17 Abs. I,4; Art. 29 CMR; § 435 HGB
OLG Stuttgart, Urt. v. 11.6.2003 – 3 U 222/02

Straßentransport
Art. 17, 23, 29 CMR; § 67 VVG
OLG Hamm, Urt. v. 25.7.2002 – 18 U 182/01 – rechtskräftig

Ein Lagerhalter, der ein Lagergebäude anmietet, ist ohne besondere Anhaltspunkte nicht gehalten, dieses hin­sichtlich seiner konstruktiven Sicherheit zu untersuchen bzw. untersuchen zu lassen.
HansOLG Hamburg, Urt. v. 20.12.2001 – 6 U 100/01

Multimodaler Transport
§§ 435, 452 HGB
OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 12.12.2001 – 18 U 79/01

Straßentransport
Art. 17 Abs. 1, Art. 29 CMR
OLG Düsseldorf, Urt. v. 14.11.2001 – 18 U 263/00

Straßentransport
Art. 17 Abs. 4 Buchst. d, Art. 18 Abs. 4, Art. 23 Abs. 2, Art. 29 CMR
OLG München, Urt. v. 31.5.2000 – 7 U 6226/99