Decisions of the BGH

In principle, the operating airline company must also reimburse a passenger who is entitled to a compensation claim in accordance with Art. 14 para. 2 FluggastrechteVO has violated the obligation to provide information.
(confirmation by BGH, ruling of February 12, 2019 – X ZR 24/18, NJW 2019, 1373)
BGH, Urt. v. 1.9.2020 – X ZR 97/19

a) In freight liability litigation, the question of who is ultimately entitled to compensation is irrelevant (following BGH, judgment of 20 April 1989 – I ZR 154/87, TranspR 1989, 413, 414 [juris nr. 16]).
b) The question of whether the requirements of § 435 HGB are met must also be examined even if only a basic judgment is issued under § 304 ZPO.
c) The clause in the general terms and conditions of business of a consignor according to which loaded vehicles are to be monitored during parking or parked where sufficient safety is ensured does not impose on the carrier any duties of care beyond the legal requirements.
d) No warning obligation for the consignor results from § 7a section 2 sentence 1 GüKG which may lead to a reduction of the claim for damages according to § 425 section 2 HGB, § 254 BGB.
e) If, in the absence of a qualified fault attributable to him within the meaning of § 435 HGB, the carrier’s liability is limited to the maximum amount of liability pursuant to § 431 HGB, contributory negligence on the part of the sender or consignee shall only affect his liability if his share of liability in relation to the total damage is less than the amount of liability under § 431 HGB.
f) The issuance of a basic judgement in accordance with § 304 of the German Code of Civil Procedure (ZPO) can only be considered if it is established that contributory negligence does not lead to a complete exclusion of liability (following BGH, judgement of 14 October 2010 – I ZR 212/08, NJW 2011, 2138 marginal no. 35 – Mega-Kasten-Gewinnspiel, mwN).
g) On the conditions under which, in the case of the carrier’s unlimited liability under section 435 of the German Commercial Code (HGB), the issuance of a fundamental judgment may be considered.

BGH, Urt. v. 23.7.2020 – 1 ZR 119/19 – OLG Celle LG Verden

a) Delay damage within the meaning of Art. 23 Para. 5 CMR, which coincides with an additional damage to goods within the meaning of Art. 23 Para. 1 CMR, without there being a causal connection between the two damages, is cumulative in addition to the claim for damages eligible for replacement due to damage or loss of the transported goods.
b) The debtor of a claim whose total creditorship exists in accordance with Section 428 of the German Civil Code (BGB) can in principle also offset against a counterclaim to which he is entitled only from one or one of the joint creditors. The necessary similarity between the claim of the joint creditors and the claim of the debtor against one of the joint creditors is missing, however, if the creditor against whom the counterclaim of the debtor is directed can demand performance either from himself or from a third party and he has not yet exercised his or her right to vote in accordance with Section 263 (1) of the German Civil Code (BGB).
c) Within the scope of the CMR, insofar as the consignor as well as the recipient is entitled to claim under Art a total belief, whereby the sender can optionally request performance to himself or to the recipient.

BGH, Urt. v. 19.9.2019 – I ZR 64/18

a) The provision of Art. 31 Para. 2 CMR, which establishes a suspension of lis pendens and the objection of legal force for the same disputes in proceedings between the same parties for the same matter, does not regulate the conditions under which a legal dispute is suspended with regard to another procedure can be. If the first pending proceedings have not yet ended and the question of the later enforceability of the decision to be taken therein has therefore not yet been clarified, if proceedings are pending before courts of two Member States of the European Union, instead of the action being dismissed as inadmissible, there will be a suspension in corresponding application of Art. 29 para. 1 Brussel-la-VO into consideration.
b) A new action for “the same thing” within the meaning of Art. 31, Paragraph 2, Clause 1 of the CMR is also involved if the pending proceedings are negative declaratory actions and the new proceedings are performance actions and both proceedings are pending before the courts of different member states of the European Union (task BGH, judgment of November 20, 2003 – 1 ZR 294/02, BGHZ 157, 66).
c) Since the CMR, which generally takes precedence over the Brussel-la-VO, does not contain any provision for the suspension of a procedure due to a factual connection with another procedure, Art. 30 Brussel-la-VO can be applied in the scope of the Brussels-la-VO.
d) In the proceedings of the appeal against a suspension decision, which is at the discretion of the court of first instance, the court of appeal may only revoke the decision of the suspension of first instance if there are errors of judgment; it is not authorized to substitute its discretion for the discretion granted to the first court. There is also an error of judgment if the court of first instance has not exercised its discretion..

BGH, Beschl. v. 25.7.2019 – I ZB 82/18

Damage, occasionally caused by a customs inspection, is not excluded from the exclusion of “intervention by a high hand” in the transport insurance.
BGH, Beschl. v. 22.2.2018 – IZ ZR 318/16
= TransportR. 2018, S. 207 ff (m. Anmerkung Riemer)

Claims settlement through insurance brokers
UWG § 3a nF (§ 4 Nr. 11 aF); RDG §§ 2, 3, 5
BGH, Urt. v. 14.1.2016 – I ZR 107/14

Road transport / CMR
CMR Art. 17 Abs. 1 und 4 Buchst. c, Abs. 5, Art. 23 Abs. 3 und 29
BGH, Urt. v. 19.3.2015 – I ZR 190/13

Road transport / CMR
CMR Art. 17 Abs. 1, Art. 29 Abs. 1; HGB § 435; BGB §§ 242 Cd, 368; ZPO §§ 416, 440
BGH, Urt. v. 22.5.2014 – I ZR 109/13

Road transport / CMR
Art. 1, 2, 17 Abs.l und 4lit. a, Art. 4 41 CMR; § 254 BGB
BGH, Urt. v. 28.2.2013 – I ZR 180/11

Liability of the carrier with the agreed application of the CMR
BGB §§ 164, 167, 242, 254, 280 I; CMR Art. 1, 2, Art. 17 I,
11 und IV lit. a und b, 18 II 1,41; EGBGB Art. 28 IV; HGB §§ 427 I Nr. 1, 452, 452 a; Rom-I-VO Art. 28
BGH, Urt. v. 28.02.2013 – I ZR 180/11

Proof of delivery of the goods to an authorized person
CMR Art. 17 I, 20 I; GG Art. 103 I
BGH, Beschl. v. 6.2.2013 – I ZR 22/12

Road transport
Art. 23 Abs. 1 und 3, Art. 29 Abs. 1 CMR
BGH, Urt. v. 30.9.2010 – I ZR 39/09

General freight law
§ 3 PostG 1997; Art. 26 Nr. 3.1 Postpaketübereinkommen 1994
BGH, Urt. v. 3.3.2005 – I ZR 273/02

Road transport
Art. 17, 29 CMR; § 254 Abs. 2 Satz 1 BGB
BGH, Urt. v. 20.1.2005 – I ZR 95/01

Entscheidungen des BGH

Das ausführende Luftverkehrsunternehmen muss einem Fluggast, dem ein Ausgleichsanspruch nach Art. 7 Flug­gastrechteVO zusteht, grundsätzlich auch die Kosten für die vorgerichtliche Geltendmachung des Anspruchs durch einen Rechtsanwalt ersetzen, wenn es die ihm gern. Art. 14 Abs. 2 FluggastrechteVO obliegende Infor­mationspflicht verletzt hat.
(Bestätigung von BGH, Urt. v. 12.02.2019 – X ZR 24/18, NJW 2019, 1373)
BGH, Urt. v. 1.9.2020 – X ZR 97/19

a) Im Frachthaftungsprozess kommt es nicht auf die Frage an, wem die Ent­schädigung letztlich zusteht (im Anschluss an BGH, Urteil vom 20. April 1989 – 1 ZR 154/87, TranspR 1989, 413, 414 [juris Rn. 16]).
b) Die Frage, ob die Voraussetzungen des § 435 HGB erfüllt sind, ist auch dann zu prüfen, wenn nur ein Grundurteil gemäß § 304 ZPO ergeht.
c) Die Klausel in den Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen eines Absenders, wonach beladene Fahrzeuge beim Parken zu überwachen oder dort abzu­stellen sind, wo ausreichende Sicherheit gewährleistet ist, erlegt dem Fracht­führer keine über das gesetzliche Maß hinausgehenden Sorgfaltspflichten auf.
d) Aus § 7a Abs. 2 Satz 1 GüKG ergibt sich für den Absender keine gegebe­nenfalls zur Kürzung des Schadensersatzanspruchs gemäß § 425 Abs. 2 HGB, § 254 BGB führende Warnobliegenheit.
e) Wenn der Frachtführer mangels eines ihm anzulastenden qualifizierten Ver­schuldens im Sinne des § 435 HGB nur beschränkt auf den Haftungshöchst­betrag gemäß § 431 HGB haftet, wirkt sich ein Mitverschulden des Absen­ders oder Empfängers nur dann auf seine Haftung aus, wenn sein auf den Gesamtschaden bezogener Haftungsanteil betragsmäßig hinter der Haf­tungssumme des§ 431 HGB zurückbleibt.
f) Der Erlass eines Grundurteils gemäß § 304 ZPO kommt nur in Betracht, wenn feststeht, dass ein Mitverschulden nicht zum gänzlichen Haftungsaus­schluss führt (im Anschluss an BGH, Urteil vom 14. Oktober 2010 – 1 ZR 212/08, NJW 2011, 2138 Rn. 35 – Mega-Kasten-Gewinnspiel, mwN).
g) Zu den Voraussetzungen, unter denen im Fall der gemäß § 435 HGB unbe­schränkten Haftung des Frachtführers der Erlass eines Grundurteils in Be­tracht kommt.

BGH, Urt. v. 23.7.2020 – 1 ZR 119/19 – OLG Celle LG Verden

a) Ein Verspätungsschaden im Sinne des Art. 23 Abs. 5 CMR, der mit einem außerdem entstehenden Güterschaden im Sinne von Art. 23 Abs. 1 CMR zu­sammentrifft, ohne dass zwischen beiden Schäden ein kausaler Zusammen­hang besteht, ist kumulativ neben dem Anspruch auf Schadensersatz wegen der Beschädigung oder des Verlusts des Transportgutes ersatzfähig.
b) Der Schuldner einer Forderung, hinsichtlich deren Gesamtgläubigerschaft gemäß § 428 BGB besteht, kann grundsätzlich auch mit einer Gegenforde­rung aufrechnen, die ihm nur gegenüber einem oder einzelnen der Gesamt­gläubiger zusteht. An der dabei erforderlichen Gleichartigkeit der Forderung der Gesamtgläubiger und der ihr gegenüberstehenden Forderung des Schuldners gegen einen der Gesamtgläubiger fehlt es allerdings, wenn der Gläubiger, gegen den sich die Gegenforderung des Schuldners richtet, Leis­tung entweder an sich selbst oder an einen Dritten verlangen kann und er das ihm insoweit zustehende Wahlrecht gemäߧ 263 Abs. 1 BGB noch nicht ausgeübt hat.
c) Im Anwendungsbereich der CMR besteht, soweit nach Art. 13 Abs. 1 Satz 2 CMR für die in Art. 17 CMR bestimmten Ansprüche wegen Verlust, Beschädi­gung und Überschreitung der Lieferfrist neben dem Absender auch der Empfänger anspruchsberechtigt ist, in deren Verhältnis zum Frachtführer eine Gesamtgläubigerschaft, wobei der Absender dabei Leistung wahlweise an sich selbst oder an den Empfänger verlangen kann.

BGH, Urt. v. 19.9.2019 – I ZR 64/18

a) Die Vorschrift des Art. 31 Abs. 2 CMR, die eine Rechtshängigkeitssperre und die Einrede der Rechtskraft für gleiche Streitgegenstände in Verfahren we­gen derselben Sache zwischen denselben Parteien begründet, regelt nicht die Voraussetzungen, unter denen ein Rechtsstreit im Hinblick auf ein ande­res Verfahren ausgesetzt werden kann. Wenn das zuerst anhängig ge­machte Verfahren noch nicht beendet und die Frage der späteren Vollstreckbarkeit der darin zu treffenden Entscheidung deshalb noch nicht geklärt ist, kommt – wenn Verfahren vor Gerichten zweier Mitgliedstaaten der Europäi­schen Union anhängig sind – statt einer Abweisung der Klage als unzulässig eine Aussetzung in entsprechender Anwendung von Art. 29 Abs. 1 Brüssel-­la-VO in Betracht.
b) Um eine neue Klage wegen „derselben Sache“ im Sinne von Art. 31 Abs. 2 Satz 1 CMR handelt es sich auch dann, wenn es sich bei dem anhängigen Verfahren um eine negative Feststellungsklage und bei dem neuen Verfah­ren um eine Leistungsklage handelt und beide Verfahren vor Gerichten ver­schiedener Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union anhängig sind (Aufgabe BGH, UrteiI vom 20. November 2003 – 1 ZR 294/02, BGHZ 157, 66).
c) Da die gegenüber der Brüssel-la-VO grundsätzlich vorrangige CMR keine Regelung zur Aussetzung eines Verfahrens wegen Sachzusammenhangs mit einem anderen Verfahren enthält, kann im Anwendungsbereich der Brüs­sel-la-VO insoweit Art. 30 Brüssel-la-VO angewandt werden.
d) Im Verfahren der Beschwerde gegen eine Aussetzungsentscheidung, die im Ermessen des erstinstanzlichen Gerichts liegt, darf das Beschwerdegericht bei Vorliegen von Ermessensfehlern die erstinstanzliche Aussetzungsent­scheidung lediglich aufheben; es ist nicht befugt, sein Ermessen an die Stelle des dem Erstgericht eingeräumten Ermessens zu setzen. Ein Ermessensfehler liegt auch vor, wenn das erstinstanzliche Gericht sein Ermessen nicht ausgeübt hat.

BGH, Beschl. v. 25.7.2019 – I ZB 82/18

Schäden, verursacht gelegentlich einer Zollkontrolle unterfallen nicht dem Deckungsausschluss des „Eingriffes von hoher Hand“ in der Transportversicherung.
BGH, Beschl. v. 22.2.2018 – IZ ZR 318/16
= TransportR. 2018, S. 207 ff (m. Anmerkung Riemer)

Straßentransport / CMR
CMR Art. 17 Abs. 1 und 4 Buchst. c, Abs. 5, Art. 23 Abs. 3 und 29
BGH, Urt. v. 19.3.2015 – I ZR 190/13

Schadensregulierung durch Versicherungsmakler
UWG § 3a nF (§ 4 Nr. 11 aF); RDG §§ 2, 3, 5
BGH, Urt. v. 14.1.2016 – I ZR 107/14

Straßentransport / CMR
CMR Art. 17 Abs. 1, Art. 29 Abs. 1; HGB § 435; BGB §§ 242 Cd, 368; ZPO §§ 416, 440
BGH, Urt. v. 22.5.2014 – I ZR 109/13

Straßentransport / CMR
Art. 1, 2, 17 Abs.l und 4lit. a, Art. 4 41 CMR; § 254 BGB
BGH, Urt. v. 28.2.2013 – I ZR 180/11

Haftung des Frachtführers bei vereinbarter Anwendung der CMR
BGB §§ 164, 167, 242, 254, 280 I; CMR Art. 1, 2, Art. 17 I,
11 und IV lit. a und b, 18 II 1,41; EGBGB Art. 28 IV; HGB §§ 427 I Nr. 1, 452, 452 a; Rom-I-VO Art. 28
BGH, Urt. v. 28.2.2013 – I ZR 180/11

Beweis der Ablieferung des Gutes an bevollmächtigte Person
CMR Art. 17 I, 20 I; GG Art. 103 I
BGH, Beschl. v. 6.2.2013 – I ZR 22/12

Straßentransport
Art. 23 Abs. 1 und 3, Art. 29 Abs. 1 CMR
BGH, Urteil vom 30.9.2010 – I ZR 39/09

Allgemeines Frachtrecht
§ 3 PostG 1997; Art. 26 Nr. 3.1 Postpaketübereinkommen 1994
BGH, Urt. v. 3.3.2005 – I ZR 273/02

Straßentransport
Art. 17, 29 CMR; § 254 Abs. 2 Satz 1 BGB
BGH, Urt. v. 20.1.2005 – I ZR 95/01